Need Keg Help!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

n8r1

Reaction score
Hi all,

Like the title says, I need help on my kegs. I'm still fairly new at this.

Here's my setup: I have 2 Ball Lock kegs, and a CO2 tank with a splitter running gas into both. Up until a couple weeks ago everything was running great.

For simplicity sake, let's call Keg #1 Porter, and Keg #2 IPA.

The Porter is pouring great. No issues.

The IPA stopped pouring beer a couple of weeks ago. Just a small drip out of the tap.

Through the process of elimination (switching CO2 lines and taps between the two kegs) I am pretty sure that there is something wrong with the CO2 input valve on the IPA keg. No matter what CO2 line or tap line I put on it, the Porter is pouring fine, and no matter what I do with the IPA, nothing is coming out.

I just finished the Porter keg and it's empty. The IPA is 3/4ths of the way full of flat beer right now. It's still being kept chilled in the refrigerator.

Here's my question: can I siphon the flat IPA into the empty keg and re-carbonate it, then go and fix the problem on the faulty keg?

Or is beer that was once carbonated and since gone flat a goner? I would hate to pour out nearly 4 gallons of good IPA.

Also, does anybody have any experience on what might be wrong with the "In" valve on the keg?

I figured out that the "Out" valve is clear and good in the IPA keg because I ran the CO2 line into it and it was bubbling inside the keg, so the gas is getting through. So I'm pretty sure it has to be the "In" valve.

Thanks!