Most underrated beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Acoma

Reaction score
There have been threads about overrated beers but let's hear about some underrated ones. For me it would have to be the reverend by Avery. I'm not an expert on quads but I have had a sheet* load of craft and I absolutely love this one. But let's hear some of your favorite beers that fly under the radar.

I would have to say Weyerbacher Quad is definitely on this list for me. I was blown away by it, then I was drunk. Also, Lucifer on tap is awesome. Another I don't really see mentioned is Tank 7 Saison by Boulevard brewing company.

Shiner Black - I normally dislike Spoetzl beers, but they knocked this one out of the park. It's a super smooth Schwarzbier style brew that I hope stays in the brew rotation in Shiner.

As highly acclaimed as KBS is I feel that Central Waters' Peruvian Morning is underrated
Although overlooked may be a better term

Dogfish head Indian brown ale, you hear alot about them but this one doesn't get much mention and it is incredible

Modus Hoperandi seems to get overlooked to me. And I will throw a second to Tank 7 boulevard in the quad

Centennial IPA should be on every hop-heads must drink list. I'm a major fan of Sam Adams Oktoberfest, in fact I have a 24 pack right now. Not enough people drink that beer. Robert the Bruce by 3 floyds doesn't get the love it deserves, imo

I think pretty much all the great session beers are underrated!! Nobody gets excited when a brewery makes a great Blonde or an excellent Amber, Everybody gets excited about DIPA's, Barleywines, Quads, etc....I think in general session beers are underrated. I still love Full Sail Amber even though you can find it everywhere....at least in CA.