Milling grain for BIAB

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

loudmacleod

Reaction score
A little background...I just started brewing in Jan 2023. So basically a The first beer was an extract kit my wife purchased. Since then, I have been using all grain using the brew in a bag (BIAB) method because it helps keep the amount of particulates down in my wort. And I've added hop baskets for the boil and dry hop as well, which is a marked improvement.

Anyway, up to now, most of my beers have been a bit more sessionable and light. So I thought it was time to ramp it up a bit. So I just cracked open my latest batch of beer (my 7th), which was a double IPA. Don't get me wrong - it tastes great - my best yet. But I have had enough beer in my ale trail to realize that this still seemed a bit lighter than the 8% ABV prediction from online calculators.

For every subsequent batch that I have brewed, I have tried to refine my methods in order to get repeatability in the future. So I record volumes, temperatures, gravity readings, etc., but have not really paid too close attention to OG/FG until now. When I actually did the math for this beer, it turned out to be 4.5% ABV, which was puzzling. I reached out to a new friend who owns a homebrew store and he said that BIAB is notoriously inefficient. So they recommend double milling the grain to help with conversion. Has anyone else run into this problem as well?

BIAB can be extremely efficient but you need to mill the grain properly to get that efficiency. Get a mill like this one and set it as tight as you can will still being able to turn the crank.

I set my brewing software to expect 90% efficiency and still overshoot the predicted OG.