Low OG For Your Consideration.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FifteenTen

Reaction score
For the record, I am relaxed, I’m not worried, I’ve had several homebrews.

However, I am new to this and I thought I’d run my recipe and process by those in the know and who better than the HBT community.

The recipe calls for an OG of 1.049, I got 1.043 and that is adjusted for temperature.

The recipe is an American Pale Ale ala Stoudt’s provided by Homebrew USA out of Norfolk, Va. It is as follows:

6.5 lbs Light LME
1 lb Crystal 20L
½ oz Cascade :)60)
½ oz Cascade :)25) (I did 3/4 oz, its my second brewing of this recipe and wanted more flavor)
½ oz Cascade :)10) (Again 3/4 oz for this brewing)
½ oz Cascade :)00)
WLP001 [California Ale Yeast (not that it affects gravity, just wanted to give whole recipe)]

I heated 1 gallon of bottled drinking water to 160̊ and added the 1 lb of Crystal in a bag. I agitated the bag every 10 minutes.
Steeped for 30 minutes. The temp was 146̊ after 30 minutes.
Added ~3 lbs of LME and then another gallon and half of bottled drinking water.
Heated to boil, added 60 minute hops and set timer.
Added the 25 min hops at, you guessed it, 25 minutes.
At 18 minutes. I removed from heat, added the remaining LME, returned to boil and reset timer for 18 minutes. That took more or less 10 minutes.
At 0 minutes I added the 0 minute hops and removed from heat. I let it sit for 15 minutes and chilled in an ice bath.