Looking for a little help troubleshooting my first AG brew

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Finder

Reaction score
To start off, I'm really new to homebrewing and this is my first post, but I've read (and learned) quite a bit already from this awesome forum. Hello!

This might be quite long.

I brewed an AG batch yesterday using the BIAB method which seemed pretty straight forward. I read DeathBrewers thread in addition to some videos on youtube. I decided on the "no sparge" method. The recipe I was the Cascadian Dark Ale / Black IPA / India Black Ale from Northern Brewer (warning pdf link to recipe).

Recipe
OG 1.075 READY: 6 WEEKS
Suggested fermentation schedule:
- 1-2 weeks primary; 1-2 weeks secondary;
2 weeks bottle conditioning--

MASH INGREDIENTS
- 11.5 lbs. Rahr 2-row pale--
- .5 lbs. Briess Caramel 80L--
- .375 lbs. Weyermann Dehusked Carafa III--
- .375 lbs. Simpsons Chocolate malt--

MASH SCHEDULE: SINGLE INFUSION
Sacch’ Rest: 152° F for 60 minutes
Mashout: 170° F for 10 minutes

BOIL ADDITIONS & TIMES
1 oz. Summit (60 min)
1 oz. Chinook (15 min)
1 oz. Centennial (10 min)
1 oz. Cascade (5 min)
1 oz. Centennial (0 min)
1 lb Corn sugar (0 min)
DRY HOPS – add to secondary fermenter
one week before packaging:
1 oz. Cascade

YEAST
WYEAST #1272 AMERICAN ALE YEAST II.
Optimum temperature: 60-72°F

BLACK IPA (All Grain)
BOIL ADDITIONS & TIMES
- 1 oz. Summit (60 min)--
- 1 oz. Chinook (15 min)--1 oz.
- Centennial (10 min)--1 oz.
- Cascade (5 min)--1 oz.
- Centennial (0 min)--
- 1 lb Corn sugar (0 min)
DRY HOPS – add to secondary fermenter
one week before packaging:
- 1 oz. Cascade--

Using the Mash and Sparge Calc from here. I derived these calculations:

Variables
Batch Size (gal): 5
Grain Bill (lbs.) 12.75
Boil Time (hrs.): 1
Trub Loss (gal.): .5