Keg Flow Problem

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WrongCoastBrewery

Reaction score
So I just bought a keg kit and hooked it all up. Set the regulator to 12# just to push some starsan through the lines and fittings. Pressure equalized on the keg and then the flow was just a small trickle. Because I am a noob at kegging, I put the gas line on the grey connector and the beer out line on the black connector. I fiddled with the poppet in the ball lock for the beer out. Still just a trickle. I want to keg a brew tonight and carb with priming sugar. Thoughts? Also, is petroleum jelly ok to use on the orings?

So I just bought a keg kit and hooked it all up. Set the regulator to 12# just to push some starsan through the lines and fittings. Pressure equalized on the keg and then the flow was just a small trickle. Because I am a noob at kegging, I put the gas line on the grey connector and the beer out line on the black connector.
That's the correct arrangement. Black for Beer. Grey for Gas.

I fiddled with the poppet in the ball lock for the beer out. Still just a trickle.

How long is your beer line?

I want to keg a brew tonight and carb with priming sugar. Thoughts?

You can do this. I often do. I prime with 4oz sugar, put the lid on, and seal the keg with about 10-20psi of pressure, and then let it sit for a couple weeks.

Also, is petroleum jelly ok to use on the orings?
No. Never use petroleum products on rubber. The robber will be destroyed. Plus, I would think that putting petroleum on the seals would leave a petroleum odor and or flavor in the beer, wouldn't it?

It's my understanding that the lube is so that the disconnects s-l-i-d-e over the o-rings when you push down and don't get caught and roll and cause a leak.