Keezer build question on line sizing for gas and beer.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JoshInWV

Reaction score
Greetings,

I'm completely new to kegging and decided to just go in whole hog and convert one of my chest freezers into a keezer. I have a Frigidaire Model FFC15C3AW2 15.6 Cu Ft. 'Commercial' freezer that I am currently using for a fridge for my bottles.

My apologies if this has been hashed out before. I am confident I have a handle on most of the build because it's REALLY not a difficult project, but I have a question on whether or not you have to match gas line sizes to the beer output line sizes. I plan on running 5/16" gas lines to my manifold and to my kegs. My question is with using a larger diameter CO2 line, is there some sort of "line balancing" that needs to be done? Do I have to match the size of beer output lines (5/16") as well or can those all stay at 1/4" with no issues?

Thanks for any and all information!

EDIT: Now that I found http://www.iancrockett.com/brewing/info/kegbalance.shtm I wish I could delete this thread. It seems I've found my answer to the balancing question I have.

- Josh

Last edited:
Line balancing on the CO2 side is not needed. Use whatever line you want, 3/16" - 5/16" (ID).

On the liquid side line diameter and line length are very important.

If you read around this forum the consensus is to use 3/16" ID (7/16" OD) beverage line for beer dispensing. The rule of thumb length for 3/i6" ID line is 1 foot per psi of serving pressure.
So at 12 psi you'd need 12 feet per tap, at around 38-40F.

Your beer temp also comes into play, and a bit longer lengths may be needed when keeping your keezer at higher temps (say 46-48F).

Last edited: