Is there a cheap and good refractometer that I could buy?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Elysium

Reaction score
I was wondering if there is a cheap and good refractometer for brewers?

So far my main issues with refractometers were:
-my eyes get tired as hell from trying to figure out exactly what the reading is
-accuracy. I was told they are made for juices...not for beer which has particles in it and makes the reading inaccurate.

I am wondering if any homebrewers use some refractometers with great results?

I'm no expert at all (just boiled my third batch this past weekend), but I in my last brew I went all grain and used this refractometer:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0099Z2GSG/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20

I couldn't figure out how to use the light source but otherwise using it could not have been easier. It comes with a little eyedropper and so I pulled a clean sample (all the trub had settled so there weren't any particles floating around) and looked at a light. It took about 3-5 seconds to accurately read the sample and I pulled another one just to double-check. I wouldn't worry about your eyes getting tired; it takes virtually no time.

The only "tricky" part was that the reading was on the Brix scale, but I found a Brix-to-gravity calculator online.

Last edited by a moderator:
As far as I know, all refractometers measure simple sugars. It is impossible to make one that accurately measures sugar in beer as different types of beer have different sugar make-ups.

If you have one that says it reads beer gravity, it will just be a regular refractometer with a slightly adjusted scale to approximate beer gravity - not sure they make them.