Infected German Alt?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LTBrewer

Reaction score
I started brewing again after a couple year hiatus. I've done about 15 extract/mash beers, so not really a newbie, though there is plenty left to learn about the hobby. Anyhow I'll post this here, if it needs to be in another thread, please let me know.
I haven’t had any infected batches to date, but I’m all but positive I have one now. German Alt Ale kit from brewer’s best with a few extra hops. The kit was about a year old, but the liquid extract looked in good shape, not black and oxidized. I had planned on using Wyeast German Ale, but given the age of the pack, I tried a starter and wasn’t impressed, so I went with a pack of Nottingham that should have been in good shape. Meticulously washed everything with oxyclean, and sanitized everything with bleach, the primary bucket only has had a couple batches through it.
Partial boil, ice cooled in sink, topped up with cold distilled water. Aerated through sanitized strainer that has only been used for this purpose. Pitched yeast at 72, OG at 1.050, on target.