I am I stuck or being impatient?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MNcoldbreak

Reaction score
I am wondering if I have a stuck fermentation and should add some more yeast and warm my carboy or if I am being too impatient.

I just started brewing and this is my 3rd batch

Recipe:
I used the Northern Brewer Dunkelweizen Extract Kit. I had a few hiccups that I think may not have been critical detriments to my brew.

Boil:
I added some caramunich to the base kit to darken it somewhat pre-boil around 160F for 15 minutes. I just went to full boils with the dark star 2.0 burner. I assumed I would need to use 6.5 gallons starting to achieve 5 gallons at the end of the boil. I ended up losing a lot less, perhaps because of my cold Minnesota garage, and after an hour boil still had 6 gallons with a gravity of 1.045 (target gravity 1.051). Maybe I should have just boiled it longer, but instead I added some regular sugar from the pantry to get up to 1.051.

Yeast:
I used a 1.5 L starter on a stirplate for 30 hours before pitching it at around 68 degrees. I used white labs 300 hefeweizen ale liquid yeast.

Ferment:
I put it in a 6.5 gallon carboy in my basement with a steady temperature of 62 degrees. I don’t have a way to oxygenate the wort yet. I had a insanely vigorous ferment on day two that blew my airlock off (again I had 6 gallons in there) and started bubbling on the ground. I think I caught it within 4-5 hours of happening and switched to a blow off tube into an Erlenmeyer flask. Since it was so vigorous a ferment and continued to be vigorous I am not too worried about contamination.