How much potassium sorbate?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gdog

Reaction score
I'm planning to keg my 1 gallon batch of hard cider. I'm also going to use a can of frozen concentrate to backsweeten it. The keg will stay in the fridge at 40 degrees. How much potassium sorbate do I need for this gallon batch before I keg it? Should I even bother using it? I used safale 04 yeast. Sorry I've never done this before.

I'm planning to keg my 1 gallon batch of hard cider. I'm also going to use a can of frozen concentrate to backsweeten it. The keg will stay in the fridge at 40 degrees. How much potassium sorbate do I need for this gallon batch before I keg it? Should I even bother using it? I used safale 04 yeast. Sorry I've never done this before.

If I was keeping it in the fridge, I"d skip the sorbate. S04 should be totally dormant at 40 degrees.

If you want to be safe, you could use sorbate and campden (sulfite). You need both, as sorbate works better in the presence of sulfites. The typical dosage is 1 crushed campden tablet per gallon, dissolved in a little boiling water, and 1/2 teaspoon of sorbate stirred into that to dissolve, then added to the keg and the cider racked into it.

Thank you! I was wondering what ratio to use. I'm thinking I might just leave it in the fridge.

If I was keeping it in the fridge, I"d skip the sorbate. S04 should be totally dormant at 40 degrees.

If you want to be safe, you could use sorbate and campden (sulfite). You need both, as sorbate works better in the presence of sulfites. The typical dosage is 1 crushed campden tablet per gallon, dissolved in a little boiling water, and 1/2 teaspoon of sorbate stirred into that to dissolve, then added to the keg and the cider racked into it.