How Many Degrees can Temperature Fluctuate

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all,

I built a son of a fermentation chiller as a space and cost efficient alternative to a fridge or freezer with temp control (this is my first time using it, and second batch of beer, first of which was a failure). I'm wondering how much of a temperature swing in terms of °F is OK during fermentation.

The beer I am brewing is supposed to be fermented at 62 degrees. I'm measuring my wort temp with a sticker thermometer and my SOFC is controlled by a bi-metal analog thermostat. I chilled my wort to that exact temp, then pitched my yeast and maintained the temp for 12 hours, but once vigorous fermentation started to happen the temp rose 2-3 degrees. over a period of 12 hours or so. I turned the thermostat down 7 degrees (on the thermostat) and in the past 24 hours it has returned to 62 degrees. I check the wort temp in the morning before work and several times in the evening. I plan to bump the thermostat up and reduce the frequency of ice changes as the fermentation slows, but I'm wondering in terms of °F, how much a temp change is OK during the different stages of fermentation. Will a 2 to 3 degree increase during the first 72 hours have an effect on flavor? If fermentation slows and the temp rises 5 or 6 degrees while I'm at work will this cause fermentation to stop? I'm just curious how anal I need to be about this and if there would be a major improvement in eliminating such temperature swings by investing in a fridge and getting a controller that runs based on wort temp instead of ambient temp in the chamber and monitoring wort temp every 12 hours.