How do you detect contamination?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Davevjordon

Reaction score
Haven't had a batch go bad yet "fingers crossed". Now fermenting I think batch numbers 6&7. I worry about each batch, and feel like I don't really know for sure until I pull the tap handle and take a swig. Can you tell if a batch got contaminated before that point? By visual or smell? Or taste the beer before kegging? What would you see / smell / taste?

I'm a fellow rookie as well, with fewer batches under my belt than you in fact. Take this for what its worth since I have no first hand experience with an infection, however my own paranoia has caused this to be a heavily searched topic for me. It is my understanding, *somebody correct me if I'm wrong* that an infection will take hold pretty rapidly and show up in the form of mold (not a pellicle) in the fermenter. As far as taste differences I've read it ranges anywhere from a putrid 'spoiled' taste to some sort of a 'sour'. There are several quality threads on here going into further detail.

An infection is not a 'death sentence' for the beer in every case, as the 'mold' link will back up. I hope this was some sort of help to you! Cheers :mug:

Just finished batch #36.

I always taste the beer when I'm checking gravity to see if it's done fermenting, and when it is racked into the keg. I've never had one be bad at that point. In fact, they usually are pretty tasty, more than I would expect given they're warm and uncarbonated.

I did have a porter go squirrelly on me but that was weeks after kegging. It was a gusher that still tasted ok.

I agree with Dawn above; I think you'd likely see something on the surface of the fermenting/fermented beer to indicate a problem.