How do these look?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
These plants are one month and a day today and since I'm new at growing hops, can I get some input on them?
They seem kinda "spindly" to me esp. the Cascade. I've added fish fertilizer a couple of times and they got a nice bump, but nothing major.
They're on a drip system that gets 60 min every morning except when it rains...
Can I get some input as its already almost August and they're only 5' tall...
FYI, these were planted as a plant, not a rhizome...

both_day1.jpg

both.jpg

cascade.jpg

chinook.jpg

Looks like a typical first year plant, mine look the same the few times I have started rhizomes.

Anderhoff.blogspot.com

The real question I have is, were those plants just a started rhizome inna pot, or were they a second year plant? Or a first year plant from a cutting that was rooted?

If they were anything other than an established crown in a very large pot, that would explain things well enough.

How big was the pot it came in, and what source? If it came in, say, a 5 inch pot, like as not what you got was, and is, still a first year plant. It isn't gonna perform like an established one.

Patience grasshopper! :)

TeeJo

Supposedly they are second year plants? I'm cool with the patience thing, I just keep reading/seeing stories of first year plants in the upper teens feet-wise and I thought maybe it was something I was doing wrong.
Thanks Tee!

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew