Help with Becker squeeze valve/beer gun/party faucet

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wesleyremington

Reaction score
Hello,

I just started brewing again after a long break. I have my first beer in a keg and am having trouble with foam. At first, I had 3 feet of 1/4 inch hose and a picnic tap, beer is at 38F and at 12 psi, all foam. Then I read about line balance and went up to 12 feet, still foaming. I dropped the psi to 10 and poured one pretty good beer and it was inconsistent at best after that first pour.

I thought a flow control faucet might help and surely would be an upgrade from the picnic tap. This led to the most foam yet and it leaks from the back the whole time it is connected. It is brand new! I took it apart and there is no o ring where the hose barb is. Is that right, am I missing a piece. Could it just be broken?

I think I need to shorten the line or up the psi to fight the foam with the flow control. Is that right? And does anyone have any experience with these faucets, am I missing something or doing something wrong?

Thanks,

Wes

8C556265-FCD5-4B1B-A542-4AD1F108401F_1_105_c.jpeg

E983C913-CB9D-4DBC-9A0B-7455F173F2CC_1_105_c.jpeg

F7605EE7-890F-4748-9F1C-A4CB92EACFDD_1_105_c.jpeg

Your line should be kept cold too. Is everything in a refrigerator?
12' of 1/4" line or 3/16" line?

I don't know about those faucets, looks like an expensive plastic gadget causing lots of turbulence, hence foaming.

Is the beer in the keg over-carbonated?
Is the liquid diptube o-ring (the squarish one under the flange) properly sealing. Any gas headspace gas entering the beer line directly could cause uncontrollable foaming. You'd see bubbles in the beer line when pouring.

all line is in the fridge and is 1/4 inch.