Hello need some help guidance on extract Pliny kit

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GJOCONNELL

Reaction score
After much pushing from friends I took the home brew plunge and Santa brought me an army of stuff and I finally got a chance to try it out.

Completely new to home brewing so I started with a Pliny Clone extract kit from Morebeer which is 10 minutes from my house.

Anyway sanitized like a mofo (I have mild OCD for cleaning so brewing is a natural fit). Anyway it was cold as all hell last night and as a newbie I didn't adjust the amount of water I started with (something I learned last night) and the OG after getting the wort down to 68 F was 1.092 and the fill meter on the keggle registered a hair above 3.5 gallons. So on the advice of my buddy he had me add water (he told me to use the 5 gallon bucket of star sans and crop it in another bucket and fill the previously star san bucket with a couple gallons and bring to temp (70) and add to the wort then send to frementer.

I added one gallon of water to the wort and took another reading @ 68 degrees and it came up ~ 1.062 OG and the target is 1.072-1.076. Anyway I pitched the yeast (White Labs Golden Ale 001 liquid) after aerating the wort.

Should I add some DME to the fermenter? The fermentation process hasn't gone 24 hrs yet. Should I boil some water and drop in a 1 lbs of DME then add to the fermenter?

Or just let it be. Wondering if I should try to get the OG back a little closer.

Sorry for the long post....