Hello From Ireland

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SundayBeers

Reaction score
Hello everyone, and thanks for having me.

I'm from Ireland and love a good home brew beer. I've been brewing for a couple of years now with my dad. It's something we thought would be good to get into as a father-son hobby. And it has been a lot of fun!

We are yet to venture byond kit brewing but looking forward to getting some ideas in here.

SB

Greetings! If you quit using kits, you can use the savings to get a small scale and a grain mill. Brewing is even more fun when you have the ingredients on hand and don't have to go to the store or order online every time you want to brew something. I would also encourage you to seek out local ingredients and make your own unique brews:

https://www.athgarrettmalt.ie/index.php/our-products

Thanks for all the welcomes fellas. Much appreciated. Very friendly reception.

Irish beers - there are a couple of small breweries locally I like in Monaghan and Cavan. Not sure if they export.

Looking forward to getting back into the kit process, and maybe working our way up to something maybe a bit more involved in time.

SB

Welcome to the forum.
I'm also an Irish home brewer.
I started about 25 years ago with some really basic kits and poor processes resulting in pretty bad beer. 😣
Back then I was was just brewing to get drunk for cheap as a student and also started with my dad as I took ove his wine making stuff.

I left Ireland in 1997 to first move to the UK and then to the continent.
So I stopped brewing around then and only picked it up again in 2013 when I bought my own house with a big basement.
Now it's mostly all-grain with the best ingredients I can find and not only to get drunk :D, so i tell my partner anyway 😌