Handheld Tap or Tower - Does it make a difference?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jmmy3

Reaction score
So I am just getting into kegging and shopping for something to keep my kegs cooled. I was originally going to get a kegerator but realized I can get a higher quality and cheaper appliance if I just get a chest freezer. I will probably add a collar as time goes by but I'm curious, is there really any disadvantage to just using the handheld taps? As far as I can see through searches, nobody seems to point out any glaring difference, so is a collar with taps more of a convenience/looks cool kind of thing? Any insight on the subject is greatly appreciated!

While on the subject, if anyone owns or knows of a chest freezer that has a stock thermostat that will go warm enough to not freeze my kegs, that would be great info as well. I heard some do and some need some additional work, but none really specify their stock temp range.

Thanks for assisting a keg noob!

I've seen many threads about picnic taps getting stuck or pitched and draining kegs...

personally i'd go with faucets from the start, a collar is really not hard to build/add to the freezer.

I've seen many threads about picnic taps getting stuck or pitched and draining kegs...

personally i'd go with faucets from the start, a collar is really not hard to build/add to the freezer.