Grain absorption and boil off numbers for 2.5 gal batches

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kenmoron

Reaction score
I’m pretty new to homebrewing and am now 2 batches in to BIAB. I use a 5 gal kettle and am doing full volume, no sparge batches of usually 2.75 gal into the fermenter (roughly 2.5 gal bottled). I was wondering if anyone else is doing something similar and what their grain absorption and boil off numbers look like. My grain absorption is about 0.045 gal/lb and boil off is about 0.5 gal/hr. My numbers seem really low compared to most of what I’ve seen out there. I boil on my stove and my kettle has a diameter of about 11.5 inches. I’ve had to change a lot of parameters in BeerSmith to get my recipes dialed. Current efficiency is about 75%. Am also considering adding a fly sparge to try to bump that up though.

I do similar sizes, but typically 3 or 3.5.

boil off is obviously variable, but for home-brew it seems to be optimal to get to a boil to have decent hot break, then drop to a rolling simmer. in pro systems the goal is 10-15% boiloff, but kettle design is different there. basically, after you get the hot break, be gentle and don't try to boil off too much.

as for absorption, it depends on whether you squeeze. I go at it like a 14 year old and his first set of boobies. others just let it drain.

I used to do batch sparge. a lot easier than fly sparge. I could get up to 80% that way. I now do overnight mashing since I got a kid and pregnant wife and tons of projects going on 24/7. without trying I get 80% at full volume. and I can wake up and have the boil and chill done in about 2.5 to 3.5 hours, depending on if I do whirlpool, hop stands, etc.