Galaxian Monkey recipe + fermcap question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DarthCitra

Reaction score
Im looking to start my first hefe type of brew and just need some input on my recipe. Im not a pro by any means and will take any constructive criticism! Also, if anyone can let me know if im able to get around 3 gallons with the same amount of ingredients, id rather do an even 3 gallons or so without having to order 6 pounds of DME.
Im trying to make this a simple batch since its my first time for hefe. Im a hophead at heart so keep it in mind!

2.5 gal batch

Galaxian Monkey

3lbs Bavarian Wheat DME -30mins
.25oz AU Galaxy hops -30mins
Whirlfloc tablet -15mins
8oz Organic Honey - 15min
.75oz AU Galaxy Hops - 5mins

half vile WL300 and ferment at 71-73 degrees

Lastly, I dont know how crazy this yeast will be but i want to avoid using a blow off tube , ive read that using fermcap drops would help reduce the chance. Any comments?

Well, I will give it a shot. The Wheat DME should be enough to give you a decent gravity. For a hefe, those hops are not to style, and will most likely overshadow your Hefe yeast flavors. At that temperature though, you will be filled with over-ripe banana flavor. So perhaps your fruity flavors will play nice, perhaps not. Its all opinion really. But I'm pretty sure the clove flavors won't be noticeable with those hops. They are usually quite high AA%, probably 15% alpha acids... but you aren't using a whole lot...