First crack at making cider....

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Harleycodr

Reaction score
I got some pasturized, preservative free unfiltered cider at Trader Joe's. Doing a small (1 gallon) batch to try...I took an initial gravity reading and got 1.050. I put in 1/5 of the yeast (champagne yeast) since the packet is for a 5 gallon batch. I had active fermentation within 24 hours and it's still bubbling along.

Question is - once it is finished fermenting, how do I sweeten it to make it drinkable? Also, like beer, does it have to sit in the bottles before being tasty? Does the carbonation occur naturally?

I've been brewing beer for 21 years so this is all new to me! Thanks in advance...

I got some pasturized, preservative free unfiltered cider at Trader Joe's. Doing a small (1 gallon) batch to try...I took an initial gravity reading and got 1.050. I put in 1/5 of the yeast (champagne yeast) since the packet is for a 5 gallon batch. I had active fermentation within 24 hours and it's still bubbling along.

Question is - once it is finished fermenting, how do I sweeten it to make it drinkable? Also, like beer, does it have to sit in the bottles before being tasty? Does the carbonation occur naturally?

I've been brewing beer for 21 years so this is all new to me! Thanks in advance...

To sweeten you can add sulfites and sorbate then add sugar but then you can't carbonate.

You will want to rack it for at least 2 weeks and then you can drink it. But aging it does increase the flavor. You can age cider like wine.

You can carbonate by using priming sugar and letting it sit in the bottle till its been carbonated by the yeast. This method makes a completely dry product.