First Cider

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hunter006

Reaction score
Hi all

Right firstly im a newb at this so no trick questions please.
I have read quite a bit on this homebrewing malarkey and thought i would give it a go after coming across this recipe for TC first batch was dead so tossed that down the sink.
FIRST BATCH
2L Apple juice from concemtrate 100%
2 Cups of granulated sugar
1/2 pkt wine yeast
2g baking yeast ( don't ask )
10 days bubbled a bit didnt look too good!!

SECOND BATCH
4L Apple juice from concentrate 100%
200g Brewing sugar
1tsp yeat nutrient ( dissolved in 1/2L water from kettle with sugar )
1pkt wine yeast

All into a demmijohn, shaken, stopper and bubbler. This bubbled at a rate of every 20-30 sec at around 15c so put a brewbelt on to bring up the temp. 24h later had a crust about 1 1/2 inches thick which seemed to be above juice and sediment at the dottom. I gave a slight shakento release the crust which dispersed throughout. About 6 hours later this thing was alive to the point where I had to remove the belt and change the bubbler to a blowoff tube as it blew loads of sediment into the bubbler pushing the top off, bubbling at a rate of once every 1/2 sec. I have bought the temp back to 15c with bubbler back on at a rate of one every 2sec. Cider is cloudy and cant see anything left at the bottom. No crust since the shake but now have a white foam about 1/2 inch thick and not even 48hours yet.
Is this right! Wrong, good or bad..
Smells ok but i have vanilla vodka in the bubbler so would do.
TIA for any answers, point i should take into concideration..

I have got a hydrometre but never took any before