Electric system with 10 gallon batches

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SaskBrewer306

Reaction score
Good morning everybody!

I use 19.5L/~5gal sankey kegs, and I don't have a ton of time to brew. Is there an electric system that can allow me to brew double batches?

Thanks

A lot of us build our own electric systems. If you feel like DIY'ing one, there's a ton of threads on here covering it as well as the site that started it for many; Building Your Brewery
As to your other thread on Brewzilla vs Grainfather.. if you go the Brewzilla route, you get these extension units for it:
https://www.ontariobeerkegs.com/brewzilla-12l-extension.htmlhttps://www.ontariobeerkegs.com/brewzilla-maltpipe-ext.html
I've been brewing for decades, but I'm just getting into all grain, that might be a bit advanced for me to piece together a system. I'm not sure what my preferences are yet... maybe I need to suck it up and just do 5gal batches.

I have one of these from brewhardware.com, with the 15-gallon kettle:
https://www.brewhardware.com/product_p/biabpackagepremium.htm
Works great for 5-gallon batches; for a 10-gallon batch of Märzen I needed about a gallon and a half of top-up water--the kettle wasn't quite big enough. But it also comes with a 20-gallon kettle, which would be plenty for your needs.

Do you really want 10 gallons of the same beer? Or rather 2 different ones at 5 gallons each?

I used to do 10 gallon batches, but over the years I started to appreciate having more variety. So I now often brew two different 5-gallon batches, back to back. There's only one cleanup. ;)

If you want to brew 2 IPAs using different hops, you could brew a double-size batch and split the wort before adding the late boil or whirlpool hops.