eHerm Control System for Geeks?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VulgarCelt

Reaction score
I am planning out my eHerms build now. One of the topics I have been chewing on is whether or not to simply purchase some very basic PID / thermocouple controllers and use them for my controls (Electric Brewery), or to develop a system using a data acquisition device such as those available from National Instruments and some homegrown software.

I am a very experienced software developer with considerable time spent in process manufacturing so I am thinking the software itself shouldn't be a tough tackle for me. And it appears that I can get an excellent level of granularity and reporting with a "soft" system that would be difficult to attain with the basic PID controller in a metal box. Is it worth the expense / effort beyond the "coolness" factor of doing it?

Has anyone out there already done something similar? If so can you provide details?

Sure, a few of us make our own controllers. I'm currently using an Arduino with my own code to control my RIMS. The brewpi project uses sparks to control their HERMS. Even if you don't want an off the shelf PID there are libraries for other platforms out there so you don't have to reinvent the wheel.

As far as is it worth the effort? I dunno, that's a personal decision. I have fun playing with it, plus there is always room for upgrades, addons, sensors, etc. in the future. But depending on how much of the wheel you are reinventing it can be rather time consuming.

Ain't it great when different hobbies come together?