Critique my partigyle idea....please.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

seatazzz

Well-Known Bloviator & Pontificator
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
So I'm sitting here thinking. I know I can brew up a batch of something today by spending about $20 on grain. But...if I spend $30 I can do two batches, if I partigyle. I've never done one at home before, but I think I have a good recipe below to do a DIPA and a cream ale as the partigyle. Here's what I'm thinking:

17lbs two row
.5lb Cara 40
.5lb Dextrine

Mash these with plenty of water to get me at least 6 gallons first runnings. Add water to that to get my preboil up to 8.5 gallons, add .75lb dextrose, and there's the DIPA wort. I've got all of the hops so don't need to buy any, and plenty of yeast too.

Then:
1lb biscuit
2lbs flaked corn

Add that to the mash tun and add enough water to get at least 5 more gallons out of it, BUT let it sit and work while the DIPA is on the boil. Once the DIPA is done and in the fermenter, mash this out and there's a cream ale. The Cara 40 won't matter in terms of color for the cream ale because I'm planning on fermenting it with 5lbs of raspberries, and maybe some raspberry syrup for a bit more color and sugar.

Whadda y'all think?

Are you expecting/hoping there will be enough enzymes left in the now-drained mash to convert the flaked corn? The biscuit also won't convert if there is any starch left there, at least, not much. Very little diastatic power in biscuit malt.

I'd wonder whether you'll be able to convert the corn and/or biscuit malt. There probably won't be much diastatic power left in the spent grain.

Last edited: