Coopers IPA kit and gravity calculations

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stavrogin78

Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm still fairly new to doing these kits, but I did one a while back and while the result was not bad, I found I didn't hit the OG that I'd figured on, and I'm wondering why.

This was a 23L batch, and here's what went in, together with how I did my calculations:

3.75lb Coopers IPA extract, 36PPG (135)
2lb Briess Golden Light DME, 43PPG (86)
.8lb Dextrose, 46PPG (37)

135+86+37=258, divide by 6 gallons, gives 43. So I figured OG would have been around 1.043. What I got was about 1.040, dropping to 1.009 when I racked it to the carboy eight days later, for about 4.1% ABV, which was a little light.

Did I go wrong somewhere? I'd like to bring that OG up a little this time around. The DME and the dextrose are what I've got at my disposal. Would adding some more DME do the trick here?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Did I go wrong somewhere?

What was the volume of your wort? OG 40 in 6.5 gal water is 260 gravity points.

I'd like to bring that OG up a little this time around. The DME and the dextrose are what I've got at my disposal. Would adding some more DME do the trick here?

From a simple math perspective, adding a lb of DME will add 7 GPs in 6 gal of wort.

Adding small amounts (8 to 16 oz) of DME probably won't require changes in hop amounts. With larger changes in malt amounts, I'd look into changing the amount of hops used as well.

Did you leave any wort behind in the kettle, IOW, wort that didn't make it into the fermenter?

Did you do a partial boil with top up, or a full boil?

Wort volume was 23L right on. Should have been an even six gallons.