Cold smoking

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skankin_brews

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I am very new to brewing, I have 4 extract brews under my belt. I was wondering if any one has ever messed around with cold smoking anything, particularly hops. I have a chef friend who uses the technique in the kitchen to impart smoke flavor without having to cook the ingredient. I just didn't know if it would work for brewing.

Smoking malt is pretty standard, there are commercially made cherry, beech and peat smoked malts. A little goes a long way.

Most people smoke a base malt, that way it doesn't get too dark from the extended heat. Here are some instructions and guidelines
http://***********/stories/beer-sty...s/309-brewing-smoked-beers-tips-from-the-pros

Cold smoking which is usually done at temps below 100F, so heat is not an issue.

I have a smoked porter that I'll be kegging sometime this week. I recently bought a Pro-Q Cold Smoke Generator and cold-smoked the entire grain bill over cherry wood. I've never considered cold smoking the hops, but that's an interesting idea. It might be worth trying to do that in addition to smoking the grain bill, but I don't think only smoking the hops would give you much smokey character...seems like it would get lost.