Carbing Apfelwein

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jstampler

Reaction score
I'm almost 3 weeks into my Apfelwein fermentation and it's beginning to clear. I'm going to leave it until the 6 week mark but it's time I start thinking about bottling. I plan on bottling 3 gallons still and then carbing the remaining 2 gallons and capping it in beer bottles. It's my first time making this so I want to figure out which way I prefer it.

I'm a little confused on how I will need to go about carbing this. I have dextrose, do I just put this directly into the carboy(how much dextrose?) or do I boil water and desolve it first? If so, how much water and dextrose would I need to use? Is there any easier way to carb than using dextrose?

Also, if I carb the remaining 2 gallons do I need to rack it off of the yeast into my primary bucket before bottling or can I just bottle right out of my carboy? I assume I'll have to wait a week or so before drinking once I bottle them?

Edit: If I want to age the still bottles, do I need to add anything to make sure they wont go bad if so, how is this done?

I would use 4 to 5 * 2/5 ounces of dextrose or about 2 ounces. Boil it in a cup or two of water for 10 minutes. Put it in a bottling bucket. Siphon 2 gallons on top of it and gently stir. Or pour the sugar water into 3 gallons of wine and gently stir. Do not do this from your carboy. You want to leave all the sediment behind.

An easier way would be carb tablets. I don't have any experience with them so will just say they are more expensive.