can I put a valve in my beer line?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scottfarcuz

Reaction score
I am looking for a way to lock up my kegorator. I know I can spend $40 or so for a tap lock but would a valve in my beer line also work? The fridge door has a lock on it. I'm new to all of this and from the start I thought I could just untap the keg when not in use and lock the fridge but the keg doesnt seem to cooperate. I find when I go to re tap the keg I get more foam than normal for the first glass or two.

If a valve will work could someone suggest what to get and where to get it from?

Thanks.

I don't think those clamps will work on a proper beverage line in a kegerator, and I don't think kinking the line is a good solution, either.

An inline valve would work fine, though.

Could always just keep the taps locked in the fridge (no shank). Would be a bit of a shame if you already have holes and shanks

Do you flush the line when you disconnect? I could see beer left in the line causing issues. What about electrifying it? That would surely keep the kids out.

Although it isn't much cheaper than the tap locks I guess I am going to just go with a valve similar to this.

http://alcoholcontrols.com/belishva.html

The only options I have seen that would work other than valves is untapping or the tap locks. untapping results in foam issues when I retap. Tap locks sound like they don't work very well and i need something fairly secure.

I don't think those clamps will work on a proper beverage line in a kegerator, and I don't think kinking the line is a good solution, either.

An inline valve would work fine, though.