Can alcohol kill yeast? US-05

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RMitch

Reaction score
I'm brewing a small-batch big beer (OG: 1.150 or so) with US-05. I didn't forsee brewing such a big beer, but it kind of turned out like that. :drunk:

Fermentation started slow, went on slowly, and ended after probably only 16-hours from first bubble to last bubble. Did the alcohol kill my yeast?

This is my first time primarying in the carboy, there was a decent 1-finger of krausen "head", which then dissolved into clumps of yeast on top of wort.

i'm brewing a small-batch big beer (og: 1.150 or so) with us-05. I didn't forsee brewing such a big beer, but it kind of turned out like that. :drunk:

Fermentation started slow, went on slowly, and ended after probably only 16-hours from first bubble to last bubble. Did the alcohol kill my yeast?

This is my first time primarying in the carboy, there was a decent 1-finger of krausen "head", which then dissolved into clumps of yeast on top of wort.

fg?

I don't think the us-05 is going to be able to convert enough sugar to bring the specific gravity down to the range of a typical beer, say 1.028-1.008ish.

1.150-1.030= 0.120
0.120 * 131= 15.72% abv; that just seems like a lot to ask from the US-05.

You might need to do an additional pitch with something more alcohol tolerant to get the FG down.

And then be prepared to wait....

IMO :mug:

Yes, alcohol can kill yeast. However, can we have some measurements so we can all speculate? :mug:

I'm not sure if you're yeast produced enough alcohol during the first 24 hours to die, but US-05 definitely cannot bring that down to a normal FG as D0ug pointed out. Most likely the yeast was stressed when you added it to such a high OG wort. Did you use a starter?