Burton Baton Replica (combine IIPA and Old Ale)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewsme

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
First I'd like to say to all contributors of HBT - thank you! You guys are awesome!

Disclosure: I've brewed 5-6 batches so I'm still a noob...

When traveling on the east coast a few months ago I came across Burton Baton by Dog Fish Head. One of the best beers I've ever tasted and I immediately wanted to attempt to replicate it! I can't get BB in Houston - I've tried :(

I read on the Dog Fish Head website that they combine/blend two threads (IIPA and Old Ale) in a large oak container for 1 month. After reading on HBT that oak barrels are more trouble than they're worth, I went with oak cubes. I've also read here on HBT that one month in the primary (skipping secondary) is the way to go so here's the plan:

1. Brew IIPA and Old Ale separately (10 gallons total)
2. After 4 days, dry hop IIPA, add 2.5 ounces of American Oak (Medium/Heavy Toast - 5oz total) to each primary without boiling, steaming, or soaking, and 1 vanilla bean split down the middle to each primary (2 vanilla beans total).
3. Spin primary's to keep the yeast going and force out any air captured when adding oak/vanilla.
4. Age 4 weeks, rack both threads into large container, lightly stir, and rack into two 5gal kegs.

I don't want vanilla to dominate the taste so maybe I should tone down the vanilla bean (e.g. split 1 vanilla bean and put one half in each primary)?

I've also never combined two batches. Should they age together in the same container prior to kegging?

I haven't found a 'here's the best way to oak your beer'. The consensus seemed to lean about 1 month so this is what I've come up with - all tips are welcome!

Thanks!
Shaun