Bottling Mixed-Culture/Dregs Brett Beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

What's the next step for this beer?

• prime and bottle

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • re-yeast and bottle

• Let is sit in primary

• Let it sit in secondary

• drink it all in one sitting

• Total voters

Adam P

Reaction score
Hey all, first time caller here!

I've been brewing all-grain for about six months now, and have just gotten into some yeast harvesting, stirring up starters, etc. I brought back a case of Hill Farmstead from VT last year, so I decided to try my hand at propagating up some of those dregs. I got a couple ml of dregs out of a bottle of Anna, put that through a couple 100ml 1.020 starters on the stir plate for 3-4 days each, then did a false 8-to-1 propagation up to four times the volume but double the gravity, a 1.040.

The starter went nuts for like 7 days, massive kraüsen (photos attached), lots of great color and clear exponential growth happening. Eventually I needed to plan for brew day, so I cold crashed it in the fridge for about 4 days before I saw any real flocculation happening. I had just enough clear starter beer to decant about half of the starter, then pitched that into 6gal of 1.052 grisette (I overshot my efficiency and got .004 extra gravity points). About 250ml cells was my goal, and I think that was probably close enough.