Beginner Ready To Brew

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jtf3456

Reaction score
I am just getting into brewing my own beer and need some help. I have researched and talked to friends and know a bit about it, but still need some help. I am looking to brew a simple and easy lager beer, something very similar to "Miller Light". I am not looking to buy any kits though. Can anyone tell me a good recipe and exactly what I will need to make this and how to make it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

By that, Paul means that Miller Light and other BMC beers are very difficult to brew as a first beer. There is no room in such a style to hide the slightest mistake made in any step of the brewing process. It is much easier to buy a Miller Light and avoid the inevitable off-flavors from FNG mistakes. I'm new at this myself, however, it is generally accepted to suggest an ale as a first beer. Once you get the hang of it - you may or may not decide that BMC clones are right for you.

:mug:

by that, paul means that miller light and other bmc beers are very difficult to brew as a first beer. There is no room in such a style to hide the slightest mistake made in any step of the brewing process. It is much easier to buy a miller light and avoid the inevitable off-flavors from fng mistakes. I'm new at this myself, however, it is generally accepted to suggest an ale as a first beer. Once you get the hang of it - you may or may not decide that bmc clones are right for you.

+1

Lager beers are not as simple and easy as ale's.

Try this American Pale ale

11.5 lbs American 2 row
.75 lbs Munich
.5 lb red wheat
.75 lbs victory

.66 oz Horizon hops 60min
.25 oz Cascade 10 min
.25 oz centennial 10min
.5 oz Cascade at flame out
.5 oz centennial at flame out