backing off bittering hops when doing full wort boil

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zokfend

Reaction score
I've been doing LME/grains recipes from High Gravity for the past several months now. One thing I've noticed is that their recipes always say that if you want to do a full wort boil of 6 gallons instead of partial wort boil of 3 gallons, you should back off the amount of bittering hops by 20%.

To me it seems backwards, but whatever. I'll just follow directions, right?

So now I am getting ready to do another recipe of theirs, their Maison de Ferme, and this particular recipe doesn't give instructions what to do if you decide to do a full wort boil of 6 gallons. It just says to do 3 gallon wort boil. So I called High Gravity and asked them if I needed to back off the bittering hops by 20% if I decide to do a full 6 gallon wort boil. The guy tells me that backing off hops really only applies to all-grain, and that backing off hops is not necessary for any of their extract recipes.

So now I'm totally confused, because prior to this upcoming batch, my previous three batches were all full-wort boils where I followed instructions and backed off the bittering hops by 20%, and the end-result was in my opinion right where it needed to be (bitter-wise). Had I done a partial wort boil, I can only guess my two previous batches would have been overly bitter? :confused:

Comments?

From my knowledge you back off your hop addition by 20% because you will get far greater hop utilization with increased water volume.