Massive boil over, loss of 1/4 of wort. What do I do now?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bigbeerenergy

Reaction score
Hi all, this is my first time doing a 5 gal boil. Did something stupid (don’t put a lid on your boil) and loss about a quarter of my wort. Pot came off of the boil as the flame got knocked out and I scrambled to clean it up. Placed it back on the fire, got a rolling boil now. Question is, should I continue with my recipe or restart? Planning on using LME at 15 min and topping off with clean water as recipe prescribes. Let me know ASAP as I got to decide soon!!

Sounds like you're doing a partial boil. You could try scaling the LME and water, if you want to hit target gravity. Otherwise, just let it ride... ABV may be different from recipe, but it'll most likely still be good beer.

Chalk it up to a valuable learning experience. 🙂

Probably too late, but I think you would have wanted to reduce amount of late LME by 1/4, to keep your recipe as close to intended as possible.
What did you end up doing?

Hi all, this is my first time doing a 5 gal boil. Did something stupid (don’t put a lid on your boil) and loss about a quarter of my wort. Pot came off of the boil as the flame got knocked out and I scrambled to clean it up. Placed it back on the fire, got a rolling boil now. Question is, should I continue with my recipe or restart? Planning on using LME at 15 min and topping off with clean water as recipe prescribes. Let me know ASAP as I got to decide soon!!