An alternative way of doing BIAB?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kzlc

Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm a newbie both in this forum and brewing.

I live in Turkey and we don't have any homebrew stores here. So, I have to start with all-grain and even with malting. It's quite discouraging but, anyway, I have to deal with it.

The main problem I face with is the very low efficiency of the mash. The O.G. I get is around 1020 to 1025, If I don't boost it with adjuncts. I am tended to put the part of blame on the quality of barley (which is also a usual concern of large-scale brewers in Turkey) but I still have some hope that I can better results by doing a more efficient mash.

This is my question: To my knowledge, each enzyme has a temperature range. The point of doing decoction mash is to catch the correct range for every enzyme (right?). So, if we're doing BIAB, instead of trying to hold the temperature constant, why don't we start with a relatively lower temperature (as low as 50 C) and increase it up to 71 C in one hour, until the enzymes are deactivated?

My question may sound naive, but I guess that being a beginner is a good excuse.

Thanks

Decoctions have more complicated impacts than that. What you're describing is basically a step-mash. It works fine, though it would probably be worth the effort to figure out what exactly is going on with your barley to make sure you're hitting the right targets. I suspect your malt is undermodified and possibly high in protein. There are different rest temperatures that will help with those situations.