In search of...predictable mash efficiency for differing batch sizes & gravities

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stealthfixr

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I am relatively new to competitions and often try very hard to 'hit' the Brewfather predicted OG & FG. Makes me very happy when a beer turns out pretty close or exactly as predicted. And, brewers often mention that predictability and consistency are cornerstones to great brewing. I was lucky enough to brew a beer for the second round of NHC, and dismayed greatly when my mash efficiency was off the chart high. Couple that with an Imperial Stout that did not turn out so imperial a few months later.

Despite switching mashing equipment around a few times, I frustratingly noticed that higher gravities were hard to nail accurately, and lower gravity batches would be higher than predicted. And, this frustration remained whether I was using a Brewzilla 3.1 65L, Brewzilla Gen4 65L, or a homemade BIAB eRIMS/Propane setup for mashing. Big batches had lower efficiency, which is nothing new. Problem is I had no way to predict mash efficiency accurately.

So, I started tracking in Excel to see what correlated with what, hoping to find 'something' to predict with. While it's not perfect, below is about the last year-ish of brewing:
Mash Efficiency Table.jpg

And, if I take the grain weight/batch size ratio and graph it with mash efficiency, it looks like this:
Mash Efficiency Graph.png