Am I stoopid?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChrisfromAbby

Reaction score
I'm considering apostasy....
I've been brewing with propane for probably 15 years, but am considering a switch to electric. At least the propane guys probably don't even read this thread, I should be safe.
I've been using little STC-100s forever, got 4 or 5 of them around for controlling my keezer and fermentation fridge and a sous vide thing.
I've built a control panel for my propane based brew bench using such as well.
But I want to stick my toe in the electrified waters.
I was trying to build a heat stick. My efforts have been exasperatingly sucky. Frickin thing leaks no matter what. I give up. It's not worth the aggravation.
So then I contemplated a built in element, but hey, why not go to 5500 watts? Then a timer for the 4hour ramp up time wouldn't be needed.
Cool. I've already got a noice long 240v extension cord that plugs into my dryer receptacle for my welder.
So I just need a temperature controller for 240v to regulate the HLT.

So I found this INKBIRD IPB-26 30A/240V Pre-Wired Digital Home Brewing Heating&Water Pump PID Temperature Controller

Which looks just about perfect, except for the $600 price tag!

Having built my own TCs using an STC before, how much harder can it be to build a PID controlled one with 240v?
Inkbird sells this kit Inkbird Digital PID Temperature Controller on/off Thermostat ITC-100VH + K sensor+ SSR
that appears to have almost everything but the box to put it in, the cable and connectors.
I guess mine wouldn't have a slick, built-in pump controller but I don't know if I need that. I usually just let the pump recirculate constantly while I'm heating the water anyhow.