Absolutey unable to use adjuncts on my system

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bert1097

Reaction score
Ive been brewing for about a year now and AG for the past 6 months. As I write this Im currently brewing my 41st batch. While I normally due variations of pale ales I do enjoy stouts, etc from time to time. The problem that Ive had since Ive gone AG is that every stinking time I use an adjunct in my mash I get a stuck sparge. Ive tried mashing out, adding rice hulls and every other thing I could think of but to no avail. Im reaching out to my fellow HBT'rs for some help.

Here is my mash schedule for the stout Im losing patience with:

11# 2row
8 oz caramel 120
8 oz choc malt
8 oz flaked oats
3 oz roasted barley
8 oz rice hulls

Mash in with 4.1 gallons hold for 60 min at 150F
Mash out with 2.6 gallons of 203F water and hold at 168 for 10 min.

I use a 10gallon igloo MLT with stainless false bottom.

Any help will be dearly appreciated.

That's not even a lot of adjunct/oats. Has to be an issue with your specific false bottom. You could add more rice hulls and try draining the MLT at a slower rate than normally.

I am relatively new to brewing so I don't really know what you mean by adjunct here unless you mean the rice hulls. From your grain bill I would assume it's the flaked oats possibly gumming up the works. Before you add in your grains do you have a level of water above your false bottom? When you get stuck have you tried flushing hot water backwards through your system?

That was thought as well but whenever I do a 'normal' mash I have no troubles.