A little for a new recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Urban_Samurai

Reaction score
Hi;
I've been brewing for roughly 6 months doing 'wort-in-bag' kits (brewhouse), and a LHBS pre-packaged boil at home kit. All have turned out ok, or at least no complaints from the people I gave it to :D. I'm aiming for a Labatt 50 clone. I know it'll be pretty pale and have no place for off flavours to hide, if any flavours at all.

Grains:
1lb flaked maize
1lb Domestic 6-row malt

Mash:
Mash @ 155F for 60min 1gal, Sparge @ 170F 1gal

Boil:
Volume - 2gal 60min

Fermentables:
7lbs light LME

Hops schedule:
Centennial 0.5oz @45min
Centennial 0.5oz, Amarillo 0.5oz @30min
Amarillo 0.5oz @15min
Centennial 1oz, Amarillo 1oz @flameout

Final Vol:
5gal

Yeast:
Wyeast 2007 Pilsen Lager 71-75% Attenuation
(Trying for a cream ale)
temp @ 65-68F

May use secondary for clearing

estimated OG:1.066
estimated FG: 1.016

So, here are my questions;
Is there enough maize to help reduce body and color? Will it give the silky mouthfeel of corn?
Will the high fermentation temp. effect the yeast drastically?

Any insight would be helpful. Thanks in advance.

I don't see where you list your fermentation temp but yes, if you can't ferment that yeast at the proper lager temps then it likely won't be what you want. You'd be better off with a clean ale yeast like S-05 or a kolsch yeast. S-05 would be my choice for a cream ale. Seems high on the hops and OG for that though.

I would up the 6 row by 25%. Mash at 152*. By doing that you will come in dry at that end. With that amount of extract you need the fermentables. IMHO.

Edited OP to include fermenting temps.