2nd batch Follies (this is a long one)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jabberwalkie

Reaction score
As you can tell by the title I'm new to home brewing and I've notice that the only way I truly learn is by failing. On my venture to be a good home brewer I decided that I would have to take the most basic ingredients and form my own recipe in order to get a reel appreciation of what each additive brings to the table.

My first batch was a full grain 1 gal kit (an amber for$11 on amazon), i loved the experience and was semi in love with the brew I produced. I was immediately hooked and bought several books on brewing. For my next batch I thought it would be a good idea to be as simple as possible malt extract, hops and done. Being new to brewing and living in an apartment the one gallon size fits....for now. So here I give you the abbreviated notes on my second batch brew:

Style: ? (somewhere between a strong ale and a wee heavy)
Batch size: 1 gallon
Boil size: 1 1/2 gallon
Estimated O.G. : 1.070 O.G. :1.074
Estimated F.G. : 1.013 F.G. : 1.011
Estimated SRM: 11.8

Ingredients:
2Lb Briess Amber LME
.25oz glacier pellet 60 min 5.9AA
.1oz glacier pellet 15 min
1/3 pack safale-us-05
1 tsp Irish moss

90 min boil

Brew day went great, looked at my notes from my previous brew day and smoothed out the kinks ( honestly how many problems is there when your day consist of adding LME and hops while boiling). The biggest issue was when pouring into my car boy. My screen on the funnel clogged and had to use a sanitized spoon to get the junk off it. After 24 hrs my blow of tube was bubbling away.