Beginner - Recipe for Strongbow-like Cider?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ruler2112

Reaction score
Let me start off by saying that I've never brewed a batch of cider in my life. In fact, my only brewing experience is the jug of mead that I started last week and is currently bubbling away slowly in the corner of my workshop. :)

I'm a software developer & probably close to 20 years ago, was in Toronto for a developer's conference. While I was there, I had a Strongbow cider that was on tap in a bar/restaurant. It was the first time I'd ever heard of alcoholic cider & I have to say that I absolutely LOVED it!!! It was nice and sweet, mild alcohol flavor, and not bitter at all. (From somebody who does not like the taste of beer, it was like a strong beer without the crappy taste of beer.) I may have over-imbibed every night of the conference after discovering this wonderful drink, but we won't go into that... ;) (They did serve mighty large glasses of the stuff for only $2 - how could I say no? :) ) In fact, I wanted to bring back a few kegs of it, but couldn't as I live in the states and customs frowns on bringing back anything alcoholic. I have looked at every store I could think of for years and have never seen it for sale. :(

So I was wondering if it might be possible to brew something that tastes similar. I've watched a few youtube videos on brewing cider, but they seem kind of hap-hazard & the guys get a very dry drink more often than not. (Some use wine yeast, others ale yeast, and others bread yeast.) I found this forum when searching for what type of yeast to buy & from what I've seen, you guys should know if anyone does!

Does anybody have any recipes, hints, or tips for me as I begin this endeavor?