Strong Alcohol Flavor In First Five Batches

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Midehv

Reaction score
Hello all, first time poster and new brewer here. I've got 5 batches under my belt; 1 box kit, 3 extract and 1 mini-mash. All of them had the same off flavor that I can best describe as a strong alcohol flavor. The flavor hits you up front hard, especially if you take a gulp rather than a sip. If I sift through it I can detect the flavors of whatever beer I brewed that time but it still gets largely masked by this dominating off flavor. It then leaves a strong lingering aftertaste in my mouth.

A quick google search suggested that fermentation temperature could produce this off flavor. Being that I started brewing in the middle of summer in the middle of a desert, I thought that must be my problem. I fitted an external thermostat to an old kegerator that I'm currently not using and now ferment my ales at 67 degrees. I was super excited to try my first beer like this thinking for sure my problem was solved. It was not.

I decided to take one of my oatmeal stouts into my LHBS to let him have a go at it. Of course he had many critiques for my beer but as for the "off flavor" he suggested it was more of an issue of the beer not being as "crisp" and "refined" as it should be and that it probably was due to brewing with extract rather than all grain.

Anyway, my general brew is 1 week in the primary, 1 week in the secondary and 2 weeks in the bottle for priming. I use a wort chiller to chill in under 15 minutes and use a yeast starter. The LHBS owner said my sanitation is fine and that he didn't detect any infection.

Any thoughts or suggestions are greatly appreciated as I'm still very new to this whole thing.