Collecting Culture from My Cats

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aerolite

Reaction score
I am a beginner when it comes to wild brewing. Please bear with me on this, I will trying to keep my wording as technically accurate as possible. I would love any comments or concerns you have regarding this process.

So a few weeks ago I decided to see if I could get a yeast/bacteria culture started from my cats (Aerolite and Luna). I was inspired by a few beer blog articles about spontaneous fermentation and wanted to give it a try. Here's my progress so far:

http://i.imgur.com/USH65D2.jpg (First Picture)

I started by preparing two separate 2L batches of wort. I cleaned and sanitized everything as a normally would when brewing.
1. 200g of Pilsner DME with 2L of Drinking Water
2. Boiled for 5 minutes with some Saaz Hops (6 pellets or so each) and a knife edge of yeast nutrient
3. Chilled to about 70 degF
4. Shake Aerated for 5-10 minutes each
5. Pet the back of my cats and balled up the fur.
6. Pitched the cat fur into the jugs and labeled each one after the cat

I waited... and waited... and didn't see much activity at first. A small amount of mold grew on the ball of fur in the "Aerolite" jug on the ball of fur. At this point I was fairly discouraged and didn't think that I was going to get much out of it. It was around day 6 that I posted this album.

http://imgur.com/a/6jiir

Note: The dark masses are the balls of fur. You can't see the small amount of mold that grew on the hairball in the Aerolite jug.