Vacation settings for kegerator - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Vacation settings for kegerator

Old 05-06-2013, 04:55 AM   #1
dilvish
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Dec 2012

I'm going to be away from home for several weeks. I'm relatively new to kegging, and I currently have a three faucet setup in my living room. My concern is that one of the kegs and/or faucets could develop a leak and I could come home to huge mess. Should I disconnect the gas/beer lines, or am I just being paranoid?

Old 05-06-2013, 05:00 AM   #2
Echoloc8
Acolyte of Fermentalism
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Feb 2012
Alabaster, Alabama
Liked 35 Times on 29 Posts

I'd probably just leave it (never had a problem myself), but then again I'm curious what others think. Subscribed.

-Rich
Kegged: Sierra Nevada Celebration clone | 2014 Peach Sauvignon Blanc, sparkling
On Deck: Black Cherry Ancho Chile Mead | Leffe Blond clone

Old 05-06-2013, 05:03 AM   #3
snowveil

Recipes 

Feb 2010
Lebanon, PA
Liked 60 Times on 44 Posts

The only way to prevent a leak in the system if there *is* an existing leak issue would be to also depressurize the kegs. I wouldn't worry about it...if you haven't noticed leaks before, you shouldn't experience anything new.

If you're concerned about a gas leak, just shut off the valve coming out of your regulator.

Old 05-06-2013, 05:08 AM   #4
dilvish

Recipes 

Dec 2012

Thanks for the input. I'm just trying to keep the wife happy, and a major keg leak would kill any enthusiasm she may have for my new hobby.

Old 05-07-2013, 01:57 PM   #5
DrunkleJon
Objects in mirror are closer than they appear

Recipes 

Jan 2011
Alexandria, Virginia
Liked 2506 Times on 1764 Posts