Blueberry cider - fermenting concerns

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

celticinnbrewery

Reaction score
Ok so I am brand new to making cider, but have been doing beer for over a year now. Anyways, I decided to give cider a try and am doing some experiments with 1 gallon batches. Right now I have batches of the following:
1 gal - Apple cider - no preservatives
1.5 lbs - blueberry puree
Yeast - 1/2 packet of Danstar Nottingham, or
- 1/2 packet of Lalvin EC-1118
Additives - 1 tsp of SuperFerment

My problem is that while I hear some bubbling inside of the buckets, I have yet to see any activity in the airlock and it has been well over 24 hrs. Any suggestions?

Also, should I put in more puree or possibly a bunch of frozen blueberries into the secondary?

Finally, how long should I leave the cider in the primary and then in the secondary before bottling?

Any advice is appreciated!

~ CIB

Are you fermenting 1 gallon batches in 5 gallon buckets? Or are they 1 gallon buckets? If it's in a 5 gallon bucket, it will take some time to fill up with CO2 and then start coming out of the airlock. If it's in a 1 gallon bucket, then you might have a small leak on the lid or around the airlock that is allow it to escape without coming through the airlock.

If it's only been 24 hours...then it might just not be cranked up yet. Give it another 24 hours.

Give it a taste when racking to secondary, if it doesn't give you enough blueberry taste, you could add more to secondary. Secondary would be my recommendation for adding any fruit or other ingredients.