Total Newbie Questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rrittenhouse

Reaction score
I have been reading "How to Brew" by John Palmer. I have also been watching videos from Midwest, homebrewingvideo.com, and even youtube.

I have studied the (simple-looking) process of extract brewing and it seems fairly easy and might be a great starting point. I doubt I want to skip to grain as I think that would be careless on my part seeing as how I have never brewed a beer in my life.

I believe I want to stay away from Mr Beer type kits (nothing against them I just tend to outgrow things quickly). I have been looking at a kit such as The Basic Midwest kit: Brewing Basics Equipment Kit :: Midwest Supplies Homebrewing and Winemaking Supplies
Or the other kit: Brewing Starter Kit :: Midwest Supplies Homebrewing and Winemaking Supplies

I've read a lot of "do's and don'ts" but I think I just need to brew it and let me be the judge. I am however asking for any input that can be offered about these two types of kits. Are there anywhere cheaper? etc. I think the difference mainly is the Carboy and the AutoSiphon if I am reading it correctly.

I also realize that they don't come with any ingredients to start me out. I would have to order that along with this kit (so that is another $30-$40 or so?).

I am just looking for some guidance. I am on a pretty limited budget so if I go with those kits (at first) I might get the Basic ($60) kit. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

You would also need a large pot, the larger the better, and also consider how you can cool down the wort to pitching temp, and also how to keep it within your desired fermentation temp.
Otherwise, equipment can be what ever works for you.