Buying Kits

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm a noob. Just made my first batch (an IPA from BB kit). I let it sit in primary for three week and just bottled it Sunday. I plan on drinking it (hopefully) sometime after the new year.

I'm going to make my next batch, but I'm a little weary of buying another BB kit from my LHBS because I have a feeling that they don't move many kits there and it could have possibly been on the shelf for a while. Is that concern viable?

Also, what kits are the best to buy online? Northern Brewer? Austin? And, why one and not the other? Does either company make their kits by the order and ship them quickly to preserve quality? Other recommendations?

BTW, when my brother-in-law and I opened up the primary to see the results of our first beer before we bottled it we both broke into sobs of admiration and excitement. The beer smelled, looked, and tasted exactly as it should at that point, and dare I say, better than I could have ever expected. Any WNYer's who want to help me sample my first beer are welcome to the bottle breaking ceremony in early January

I have had great success with both Northern Brewer and Midwest Supply when it comes to kits. I've only brewed one BB (2008 HopNog), but I knew it was fresh since it's a limited release and it turned out fantastically.

Just make sure the box is the new packaging. See ldcarlson.com My local still has some of the older brown boxes. I think you can also check the date on the yeast to see how current.