Whats the deal with Austin Homebrew Supply???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BullF-16

Reaction score
I am a complete newb to this hobby and now have 4 batches in fermenters. i have ordered 3 times from AHS since i live in Texas and want to support them. Out of the 3 orders, they have screwed up 2. On the first they left out the carboy stopper and airlock i ordered with my new class carboy. on the most current order, i ordered a belgian pale ale mini mash kit and they left out the Hops and i wanted some dry yeast as a back up and they left that out. I called them both times and they said "sorry were busy, take it up with the shipping department. No thanks, i will move on. Any recommendations for a new mail order HBS? Dont want to air dirty laundry, but WTFO.

Wow that is unusual I have had nothing but good luck with them. Maybe you should e-mail Forest and tell him the problems you have had. I do remember reading he was a little under staffed and was adding more people to help out. They are a good company who cares about customers satisfaction.

That is very unusual for them. Forrest from Austin Homebrew is an active member of these forums and I'm sure he'll chime in and set things right for you.

I am sure Forrest is a good guy. It is just the attention to detail that screws you. A carboy without a stopper and airlock is no good. and a Belgian mini mash kit without hops is no good. i was hoping to expand my home brew experience this Friday with a mini mash kit. After unloading the box, and carefully searching the styrofaom peanuts for my dry yeast back up and any hops whatsoever, there was none. maybe i can use the mold from some old bread in my pantry for the hops?????