Poplar or Oak for a Mash Paddle?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zuljin

I come from the water
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Poplar or Oak for a mash paddle? Can't get Maple.

So says, oak will impart oak flavors. I can't imagine it's much or at least not for very many brews.

Poplar?

So a few minutes of readings tells me that oak is heavier and has more tannins than poplar. Both are tight grained, oak being more dense. Poplar is more flexible. Both have been used in water going vessels with oak being for sea faring ships and poplar for canoes. Oak is native to my area. Poplar is not.

im new to home brewing (doing first brew this sunday). I just bought a wooden spoon from a kitchen store. is this ok to used for my LME brew this weekend?

I've read that if using oak, white oak is more desirable that red oak. Not as many funky flavor compounds.

im new to home brewing (doing first brew this sunday). I just bought a wooden spoon from a kitchen store. is this ok to used for my LME brew this weekend?
In the case of extract brewing, I would only use a wooden spoon during the boil. That is for the sake of sanitation. You might be alright, but I suggest you try to pickup a plastic spoon at your local homebrew store before you brew. After you chill your wort and pitch the yeast, you will need to stir it up well. That's when a wooden spoon might not be advisable to use, in my opinion.

The wooden mash paddles being discussed here are used in all-grain brewing when the wort is at a high temperature which protects against contamination.

My dad made mind out of Pine. I doubt after properly seasoned any wood will impart much flavor with as little contact time as it gets with the grist/wort.